Darkness Domain

Cleric Domain

The gods of night and shadows are patrons of those who do their work in the darkness: thieves, assassins, gravediggers, and all those who dwell below the earth. Many such gods are evil, though this is not a universal truth as some such gods simply watch over travelers far from home. Clerics of these gods make use of the darkness to cover their deeds, and shield them from their enemies.

Domain Spells

You gain domain spells at the cleric levels listed below. See the Divine Domain class feature for how domain spells work.

Cleric LevelSpells
1stHex, Sleep
3rdDarkness, Shadow Blade
5thCatnap, Hunger of Hadar
7thEvard's Black Tentacles, Shadow of Moil
9thDream, Enervation

Dark Trade

At 1st level, you gain proficiency in one of the following skills of your choice: Deception, Sleight of Hand, or Stealth. Additionally, your proficiency bonus is doubled for any ability check you make that uses the chosen skill.

Dark Armor

Starting at 1st level, while you are wearing no armor and not wielding a shield, your AC equals 10 + your Dexterity modifier + your Proficiency bonus.

Channel Divinity: Interposing Darkness

Starting at 2nd level, you can use your Channel Divinity to shift shadow and darkness to protect yourself and your allies. When a creature within 30 feet of you is attacked, you can use your reaction to impose disadvantage on the attack roll. If the attack misses, the attacker must make a Wisdom saving throw or be blinded until the start of its following turn. An attacker that cannot be blinded is immune to this feature.

Midnight Sight

Beginning at 6th level, you can see normally through darkness, both magical and nonmagical, to a range of 120 feet.

Divine Strike

At 8th level, you gain the ability to infuse your weapon strikes with the shadowy energy of darkness. Once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can deal an extra 1d8 necrotic damage to the target. When you reach 14th level, the extra damage increases to 2d8.

Strength from Darkness

At 17th level, you learn to draw immense strength from darkness. While in an area of dim light or darkness, you have resistance to bludgeoning, piercing, and slashing damage from nonmagical weapons. Additionally, if you aren't incapacitated you regain hit points equal to 1d6 + your Wisdom bonus when you end your turn in an area of dim light or darkness with fewer than half of your hit points remaining.