Fighter Martial Archetype

Drawing power from dark bargains struck with otherworldly fiends, hellknights combine martial prowess with infernal magic. Unlike the eldritch knight, the hellknight’s power comes not from careful study or practice but rather from sheer force of will and their connection to the infernal.

Blade Mage

At 3rd level, you can use any simple or martial weapon as a spellcasting focus. Any simple or martial weapon that you wield counts as magical for the purposes of overcoming resistances and immunity to nonmagical attacks and damage.


When you select this archetype at 3rd level, you augment your martial abilities with infernal magic. See chapter 10 of the Player’s Handbook for the general rules of spellcasting and chapter 11 for the warlock spell list.

Spell Slots. The Hellknight Spellcasting table shows how many spell slots you have to cast your spells, as well as what level the slot is; all of your spells slots are the same level. To cast one of these spells, you must expend a spell slot. You regain all expended spell slots when you finish a short or long rest.

Spells Known. You know two first level spells of your choice from the warlock spell list.

The Spells Known column of the Hellknight Spellcasting table shows when you learn more warlock spells. A spell known must be no higher than what’s shown in the table’s Slot Level column for your level.

Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the warlock spells you know and replace it with another spell from the warlock spell list, which must also be of a level for which you have spell slots.

Spellcasting Ability. Charisma is your spellcasting ability for your warlock spells, so you use your Charisma whenever a spell refers to your spellcasting ability. In addition, you use your Charisma modifier when setting the saving throw DC for a warlock spell you cast and when making an attack roll with one.

Spell save DC  = 8 + your proficiency bonus + your Charisma modifier

Spell attack modifier = your proficiency bonus + your Charisma modifier

Level Spells Known Spell Slots Slot Level
3rd 2 1 1st
4th 3 1 1st
5th 3 1 1st
6th 4 1 1st
7th 4 1 1st
8th 5 1 1st
9th 5 1 1st
10th 6 1 2nd
11th 6 2 2nd
12th 6 2 2nd
13th 7 2 2nd
14th 7 2 2nd
15th 7 2 2nd
16th 7 2 2nd
17th 8 3 2nd
18th 8 3 3rd
19th 9 3 3rd
20th 9 3 3rd

Infernal Recovery

Beginning at 7th level, when you use the Second Wind action, you also regain a single spell slot.

Eldritch Invocation

At 7th level, you gain a single Eldritch Invocation. You gain an additional Invocation at 15th level.

Blood Magic

At 10th level, you can use a bonus action to sacrifice some of your life force in exchange for greater magical power. You take 1D6 damage. Until the end of your next turn you have advantage on spell attack rolls. Once you use this feature you must finish a short or long rest before you can use it again.

Infernal Fury

At 18th level, when use your Action Surge to use the attack action, you may also cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 action.